Shrewsbury High's Speech And Debate Team Wins First Place

  • Comment
The Shrewsbury High School Speech and Debate Team won first place at the 52nd Annual Natick Holly Festival.
The Shrewsbury High School Speech and Debate Team won first place at the 52nd Annual Natick Holly Festival. Photo Credit: File

SHREWSBURY, Mass. — The Shrewsbury High School's speech and debate team earned first place at the 52nd Annual Natick Holly Festival in December, principal Todd H. Bazydlo announced.

The team's next tournament is Saturday at Newton South.

The Natick Holly Festival is the oldest and largest local tournament of the year, with more than than 600 students from more than 40 schools competing.

"This accomplishment is a testament to the hard work and dedication of the students and coaches," Bazydlo said in a message to parents. "The SHS team also donated over 200 children's books for a charitable drive being held at the tournament."

Four Shrewsbury students won overall awards:

• Aditi Singh: fourth place

• Blair Drummey: third place

• Sean Hevey and Sean Lambert: second place

Nate Hitchings and Dezarae Mosley participated in the Pentathlon. Hitchings placed sixth out of 20.

Of the 22 events offered, several Shrewsbury students earned individual first place standings:

• Sean Lambert: Programmed Poetry

• Carolina Lima: Dramatic Interpretation

• Nic Gerard: Congressional Debate

• Aleeza Isaac: Declamation

Other awards include:

• Novice Extemporaneous Speaking: Richa Chhaya: second place; Hari Kumar: sixth.

• Dramatic Interpretation: Sean Lambert: third place; Roy Masha: sixth.

• Duo Interpretation: Sean Hevey and Blair Drummey: third place.

• Impromptu Speaking: Nithya Pathalam: third place.

• Multiple Reading: Kylie Donovan, Aditi Singh, Sean Lambert, Sean Hevey and Blair Drummey: third place

• TV News Team: Eden Nativ, Brendan Roque and Declan Quinn: third place.

• Congressional Debate: Abhi Gupta: third place; Sonia Bhardwaj, Catherine Zhang, Nate Kashdan, Miriam George and Xiayue Wang: finalists.

• Storytelling: Nate Hitchings: fourth place.

• Children's Literature: Aditi Singh: fourth place.

• Novice Reading: Cherise Connolly: fourth place; Gail Fabbri: fifth.

• Varsity Extemporaneous Speaking: Ryan Carelli: fifth place.

• Original Oratory: Margaret Gach: sixth place.

• Programmed Poetry: Margaret Gach: sixth place.

• Drama Audition: Gail Fabbri: sixth place and top novice.

• Play Reading: Jenna Parks: top novice.

• Declamation: Yutong Liu: honorable mention.

• Group Discussion: Nathaniel Mahowald, Brendan Hastings: tie for seventh place, honorable mentions.

• Humorous Interpretation: Nate Hitchings: honorable mention.

• Poetry Reading: tied for seventh place.

  • Comment